East Edition Herald American Lynwood Press Northeast Edition The Press

Filing for June primary election ends March 11

NORWALK — With the March 11 deadline to file for the June 7 primary election near, several area incumbents are unchallenged while a number of candidates are scrambling to replace incumbents who are seeking other offices.

The filing period began Feb.16.

Assemblyman Ed Chau, a Democrat, based in Pasadena, has filed papers for re-election in the 49th Assembly District with no competition so far. The district includes Monterey Park and Alhambra.

Also unchallenged as of March 7 are state Sen. Ricardo Lara, D-Long Beach, in the 33rd State Senate District, and Assemblyman Jimmy Gomez in the 51st Assembly District.

In the 53rd Assembly District, Democratic incumbent Miguel Santiago could be challenged by two other Democrats, Kevin Jang, an attorney and businessman, and Sandra Mendoza. Both are from Los Angeles.

In the 58th Assembly District, Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia, D-Downey, has taken out nomination papers and could be challenged by Ramiro Alvarez, a Republican from Downey, who has indicated an interest to run in the district while Assemblyman Ian Calderon, D-Whittier, faces a challenge from Rita Topalian, a Republican, also of Whittier in the 57th Assembly District.

Assemblyman Anthony Rendon, D-South Gate, represents the 63rd District and has taken out nomination petitions to circulate, as has possible challenger, Adam Josuha Miller, a Republican from Lakewood.

In the 64th Assembly District, incumbent Mike Gibson, D-Inglewood, has filed along with school teacher Theresa Stanford, R-Gardena. Possible challengers are Ricky Hicks of Compton and Martha N. Segura of Long Beach, both Democrats.

On the county level, at least four candidates are seeking to replace Fourth District Supervisor Don Knabe, who can’t run again because of term limits. They are Rep. Janice Hahn of San Pedro,who has filed her papers; Mike Gin of Long Beach and Whittier Union High School District board member Ralph Pacheco, both of whom have taken out nomination papers, as has Manhattan Beach City Councilman Steve Napolitano.

Supervisor Mike Antonovich is also termed out in the Fifth Supervisorial District and as many as seven candidates could be seeking to replace him.

They include Los Angeles City Councilman Mitch Englander, criminal gang prosecutor Elan Carr, state Sen. Bob Huff, R-Diamond Bar; real estate investor Rajpal Kahlon, Altadena town council member Billy Malone, Glendale Mayor Ara Najarian and Darrell Park, an educator and budget specialist from Pasadena.

Second District Supervisor Mark Ridley Thomas is unopposed as is Los Angeles County District Attorney Jackie Lacey, who has taken out papers for re-election.

The county positions are non-partisan.

With Hahn running for supervisor, her 44th Congressional District seat becomes open with as many as nine candidates considering running for the seat.

State Sen. Isadore Hall is the leading candidate. Others taking out papers include Nanette Diaz Barragan of San Pedro, Christopher Castillo of Wilmington, Michael De Mauricio of Downey, Martha Delgadillo of South Gate, Morris Griffin of Inglewood, Analilia Joya of Torrance, Sylvia Ortiz of Lynwood and Armando Sotomayor of Long Beach.

The district includes Lynwood and South Gate.

In the 27th Congressional District, incumbent Judy Chu, a Democrat from Monterey Park, has filed and may be opposed by Monrovia businessman Jack Orswell, a Republican.

Candidates for the 38th Congressional District are Rep. Linda  Sanchez, D-Lakewood; and Scott M. Adams, Lakewood, no party preference.

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard, D-Downey; faces opposition from Roman Gonzalez of Downey, no party listed; in the 40th Congressional District.

In the 34th Congressional District, incumbent Xavier Becerra, D-Los Angeles, has filed and may be challenged by Adrienne N. Edwards and Enrique (Kiko) Salazar, both Democrats, who have indicated they may run.

Seeking Hall’s vacated 35th Senate District seat as of March 7 are Steven Bradford, D-Gardena; Warren Furutani, D-Wilmington; Isaac Galvan, D-Compton; and Charlotte A. Svolos, R-Torrance.