College Sports

HBCU schools list All American team

Delaware State center Kendall Gray heads the seventh annual Boxtorow Division I All-American team as player of the year. He was also chosen the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year while leading the Hornets to an 18-18 record and a berth in the conference tournament championship.

Joining Gray on the Boxtorow All American team are Jordan Parks and Nimrod Hilliard of North Carolina Central, Jamel Waters of Alabama State, Madarious Gibbs of Texas Southern and Amere May of Delaware State.

Texas Southern head coach Mike Davis was named the Boxtorow coach of the

Year after leading the Tigers to a 22-13 record, the South Western Athletic Conference regular season

and tournament championships and a berth in the NCAA playoff.

Hampton, which won the MEAC Conference tournament, was the other HBCU team in the NCCA tournament this year.

The Boxtorow All American second team included guard Jeff Short of Norfolk State, guard Marcel Mosley of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, guard-forward Ladarius Tabb of Alabama A&M, forward James Carlton of Howard University and forward LaAntwan Luckett of Alcorn State.

The third team included guard James Daniel of Howard, guard Sterling Smith of Coppin State, guard-forward Adrian Rodgers of Southern University, forward Marquis Vance of Alcorn State, forward Nick West of Alabama A&M and forward Michael Myers of Maryland-Eastern Shore.