Lead Story West Edition

Kamala Harris leads 34 candidates in Senate race

LOS ANGELES — Attorney General Kamala Harris moved a step closer to becoming the second African-American women to serve in the U.S. Senate in voting here June 7.

Harris ran first among a slate of 34 candidates seeking to replace Sen. Barbara Boxer, who announced last year she would not seek re-election.

Harris, who captured 40.3 percent of the vote statewide, will face U.S. Rep. Loretta Sanchez, D-Santa Ana, in November. Sanchez received 18.5 percent of the vote.

It is the first time Democrats will face each other in November in a U.S. Senate race under the state’s top-two primary rules that pit the top two vote-getters in the primary election against each other in the November general election no matter their party affiliation.

It also will be the first time Republicans will not have a candidate for U.S. Senate on the ballot since the 17th Amendment to the Constitution was approved in 1913, calling for the popular election of senators instead of allowing state legislatures to appoint them.

Since then, the only black woman to serve in the Senate was Carolyn Moseley Braun, who represented Illinois from 1993 to 1999.

According to the Los Angeles County Registrar of Voters, 29.92 percent of registered voters went to the polls June 7.

In Compton, an effort by city officials to raise the city’s sales tax by one percent was too close to call the day after the election. The final unofficial vote tabulation had Measure P failing by 102 votes. The vote count was 5,111 against the tax hike and 5,009 in favor of it.

With provisional and late absentee ballots yet to be counted, that tally could change.

In Carson, voters extended the city’s 2 percent utility tax another seven years, to June 30, 2023.

In other key races, Rep. Janice Hahn, D-San Pedro; and Steve Napolitano, an aide to county Supervisor Don Knabe, will square off Nov. 8 for the seat on the county Board of Supervisors being vacated by Knabe, who is forced out by term limits.

Hahn, the daughter of the late Supervisor Kenneth Hahn, received 47.3 percent of the vote in the primary election to 36.95 percent for Napolitano, who is a former city councilman in Manhattan Beach.

Under county election laws, a candidate receiving more than 50 percent of the vote wins immediately, but if no candidate gets 50 percent of the vote, the top two vote-getters contend in the fall.

A third candidate, Ralph Pacheco, a member of the Whittier Union school board, received 15.7 percent of the vote.

Knabe’s Fourth District is a U-shaped district that extends from the South Bay through Long Beach and into Southeast Los Angeles County. It extends east to Whittier and Diamond Bar.

With Hahn’s 44th Congressional District seat up for grabs, state Sen. Isadore Hall III was one of eight candidates seeking that seat.

Hall, D-San Pedro, emerged as the top vote-getter with 41.46 percent of the vote, followed by Nanette Diaz Barragan, an attorney from San Pedro, who had 21.59 percent of the vote.

The top two candidates seeking Hall’s 35th Senate District seat are two former assemblymen, Steven Bradford, D-Gardena, who had 36.35 percent; and Warren Furutani, D-Wilmington, who had 23.85 percent of the vote.

They beat out two other candidates. All four are Democrats.

In the 37th Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Karen Bass received 81.04 percent of the vote. She will face Chris Blake Wiggins, who received 9.92 percent of the vote, in November. The district includes parts of South Los Angeles and Culver City.

In the 43rd Congressional District, longtime Rep. Maxine Waters received 75 percent of the vote and will face Omar Navarro in November.

In the 54th Assembly District, Democratic incumbent Sebastian Ridley-Thomas received 83.19 percent of the vote and will face Glen Ratcliff, who received 16.81 percent of the vote, in November.

In the 64th Assembly District, Democratic incumbent Mike Gipson received 76.85 percent of the vote and will face Theresa Sanford in November.

Assemblywoman Autumn Burke was unopposed in the 62nd Assembly District and will serve a second term beginning in December.