Entertainment Movies Music

Tom Joyner to receive special honor at Image Awards

HOLLYWOOD — Mass media icon Tom Joyner will be honored with the Vanguard Award at the 50th NAACP Image Awards March 30 at the Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood Highland Complex. 

The Vanguard Award is presented to a person whose groundbreaking work increases understanding and awareness of racial and social issues. To date, the special award has been presented to Aretha Franklin, Clive Davis, surviving Memphis Sanitation Workers, Prince, Russell Simmons, Stanley Kramer, Steven Spielberg and Wyclef Jean. The 50th NAACP Image

Awards will air during a live television special on TV One, hosted by Anthony Anderson.

U.S. Rep.Maxine Waters also will be honored with the prestigious NAACP Chairman’s Award, bestowed in recognition of individuals who demonstrate exemplary public service and use their distinct platforms to create agents of change.

“As we enter the 50th year of the NAACP Image Awards, we are proud to bestow on Tom Joyner the Vanguard Award,” said Derrick Johnson, president of the NAACP. “He has been a staple within the black community not only on the airwaves but also as an activist and advocate, contributing to society and paving the way for our youth. It was only fitting to celebrate him with this award.”

Marvel’s “Black Panther” scored a leading 13 nominations for this year’s Image Awards, which honor “accomplishments of people of color” in film, television, music and literature.

“Black Panther” was nominated for outstanding motion picture, along with “BlacKkKlansman,” “Crazy Rich Asians,” “If Beale Street Could Talk” and “The Hate U Give.”

“BlacKkKlansman” and “If Beale Street Could Talk” were also nominated for best independent film, as were “Nappily Ever After,” “Sorry to Bother You” and “Traffik.”

Chadwick Boseman received a nomination for best actor for his work in “Black Panther.” His co-star in the film, Michael B. Jordan, was nominated for best supporting actor, but he also received a best actor nod for “Creed II.”

Also nominated for best actor were Denzel Washington for “The Equalizer 2,” John David Washington for “BlacKkKlansman” and Stephan James for “If Beale Street Could Talk.”

For best actress, nominations went to Amandla Stenberg for “The Hate U Give,” Constance Wu for “Crazy Rich Asians,” KiKi Layne for “If Beale Street Could Talk,” Sanaa Lathan for “Nappily Ever After” and Viola Davis for “Widows.”

For television shows, nominations for best comedy series went to “Atlanta,” “black-ish,” “Dear White People,” “grown-ish” and “Insecure.” Drama series nominees are “How To Get Away With Murder,” “Power,” “Queen Sugar,” “The Chi” and “This is Us.”

In music categories, Ella Mai, Jade Novah. Koryn Hawthorne, Omar Wilson and Tory Lanez were nominated for best new artist. 

Nominations for most outstanding album went to Janelle Monae for “Dirty Computer,” Ella Mai for “Ella Mai,” Majopr for Even More, the Carters for “Everything Is Love,” and H.E.R. for “I used to Know Her: The Prelude.”

In literary categories, the nominees for outstanding literary work in fiction went to “An American Marriage” by Tayari Jones, “Better Late Than Never” by Kimberla Lawson Roby, “Black Panther: Who Is The Black Panther? Prose Novel” by Jesse James Holland Jr., “Envy” by Victoria Christopher Murray and “They Come in All Colors: A Novel” by Malcolm Hansen.

Nominees for most outstanding literary work in nonfiction went to “Barracoon” by Zora Neale Hurston, “Black Girls Rock! Owning Our Magic. Rocking Our Truth” by Beverly Bond, “For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Politics” by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, Minyon Moore and Veronica Chambers, “May We Forever Stand: A History of the Black National Anthem” by Imani Perry, and “The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row” by Anthony Ray Hinton and Lara Love Hardin.

Staff and Wire Reports